No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread

dsc01135

If I told you it took over twenty hours to make this loaf of bread I’m sure you wouldn’t even bother to look at the recipe.   The good news is that for about ninety percent of the time the dough is taking care of itself.

Baking bread usually takes up a good part of the day between mixing, kneading, first and second rising and baking.

This recipe is as interesting as convenient to make.  A few spare minutes the night before, four simple ingredients and no kneading turns out a delicious rustic loaf.

The interesting part is that it’s baked in a covered Dutch oven where it rises, bakes and develops a wonderful crust when uncovered for the last minutes of baking.

The first time baking this bread I followed the recipe exactly.  The second time I made a few changes… maybe more than a few which resulted in an even better loaf.

Enough changes to make this recipe mine?

No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon active dry yeast

1  3/4 cups warm water

The night before baking bread…

  • In a large bowl stir together flour, yeast and salt.
  • Stir in warm water using wooden spoon only until dough comes together, it won’t be smooth.
  • Cover dough tightly with plastic wrap and set on the counter overnight (8 to 24 hours). Dough will double.
  1. When ready to bake bread, preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. and place the Dutch oven uncovered into the preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  2. While the Dutch oven preheats turn dough out onto a floured piece of parchment paper and shape into a ball, cover loosely and let rest.
  3. When the 30 minutes of preheating is up carefully remove Dutch oven from oven and transfer dough along with parchment paper into the the Dutch oven.
  4. Place lid on and bake for 50 to 60 minutes.
  5. Uncover and cook an additional 10 to 15 minutes until the crust is a deep golden colour.
  6. Carefully remove bread from Dutch oven and transfer to cooling rack.
b1

Stir together flour, yeast and salt.

b2

Add warm water.

b3

Stir until rough dough forms.  Don’t overwork dough.

b4

Cover tightly with plastic wrap, cover with tea towel and let rest on the counter for 8 to 24 hours

b5

Dough will rise and double.

b6

Turn out onto a floured piece of parchment paper , with floured hands shape into a ball and cover loosely.

b7

After heating Dutch oven at 450 degrees F. for 30 minutes place dough along with parchment paper into the hot pot, cover and bake for 50 to 60 minutes.

b8

Uncover Dutch oven and continue to bake for 10 to 15 minutes until a deep golden crust forms, remove from pot and cool.

Notes, Tips and Suggestions

  • Dutch Oven: A large, heavy cooking pot with a lid.
  • Make sure the pot can withstand a 450 degree F. oven temperature.
  • Changes made to the original recipe are reflected in the recipe on this post.
7 thoughts on “No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread

  1. Pat Sornberger says:

    I mixed up your recipe yesterday afternoon in anticipation of a hot loaf of bread for Saturday breakfast but it hasn’t worked out very well. When I dumped it out on the parchment this morning it was just a soggy pancake with no hope of ever becoming a ball. There was still liquid in the proving bowl. The only thing I did differently was to use bread flour. Perhaps not all of the water should have been poured in? I make bread quite often but have never tried a no-knead type before. I’ll try it again but use less water next time.

    Like

    • domenicamanafo says:

      Oh dear Pat I’m so sorry things didn’t work out for you and I’m not sure why.
      As you can see in my pictures, after I added the water and stirred it into the flour I ended up with a dough that was quite dry. The first time I made this bread I was actually worried that the dough was too dry but after rising it was perfect.
      I rechecked the recipe measurements in case I had made an error but it was good so we can rule that out.
      The only other reason I can think of is that an error could have been made either in measuring out too much water or not measuring out enough flour. Water in the bottom of the proving bowl might indicate one or the other. Other than that I can’t think of anything else that could have caused the problem.
      I don’t think it had anything to do with using bread flour, in fact I’m going to be making another loaf using exactly that this coming week.
      I’ll let you know if I run into any problems.
      I hope you will try this recipe again, it really does make a nice loaf.
      If you do let me know how it goes:)

      Like

      • Pat Sornberger says:

        I’m giving it another try. I triple checked my measurements, used bread flour again but only added 1 1/2 cups of water. Even with that the mixture was really sloppy so I added a bit more flour to dry it out a bit and try to make it look more like yours. It’s proving now and I’ll let you know how it turns out in the morning!

        Like

  2. MH says:

    I started this bread Tuesday morning, and finished up in about 12 hours. It was such an easy recipe to follow, and the results were fantastic. I served it as garlic bread with homemade pasta and sauce, Wednesday for lunch, with three friends. I made four loafs, and gave each friend a half a loaf to take home. I forgot to take pictures.
    Thanks for a great recipe.

    Like

  3. domenicamanafo says:

    Hello MH,
    Thank you for your comment.
    I’m so glad you’re enjoying this recipe as much as I am.
    I haven’t purchased a loaf of store bought bread since posting the recipe. It’s just too good and too easy to make. Actually, I really don’t think we can ever go back to commercially produced bread.
    You are certainly a person after my own heart…homemade pasta and sauce and now home made bread! Can it get any better than that?
    I do commend your kindness in baking extra loaves and sharing with your friends…lucky friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

