Chocolate Sour Cream Cake

this one

There was no intention of baking a chocolate cake this week but this recipe came highly recommended so I couldn’t resist.

If I had I come across this recipe while looking to make a good chocolate cake I most likely wouldn’t have stopped at this one, it just seemed too easy.  The flour sugar ratio was a concern that it might be a little sweet but I  took the chance that three heaping tablespoons of cocoa were going to balance things out and they did.

As well, the directions were a little lacking but after making a couple of changes this recipe is even easier to follow and I’ve taken the liberty to include the changes in the posted recipe.

A great recipe, easy to put together, intensely chocolate and absolutely delicious!  Another one for my chocolate cake recipe collection.

I highly recommend it as well!

Sour Cream Chocolate Cake

1 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 heaping tablespoons cocoa

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 large egg

1 cup sour cream

  1. Sift flour, sugar, soda and salt into a bowl.
  2. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients then add sour cream, vanilla and egg.
  3. Beat with electric beater until smooth and thick.
  4. Spoon batter into greased and floured 8 inch square pan.
  5. Bake in a preheated 325 F. degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes until  cake springs back when touched in the center.
  6. Let cake rest 5 minutes in pan then remove and cool on rack.

1

2

3

4

5

6

8

9

cake2

Notes, Tips and Suggestions

  • Although the recipe calls for an 8 inch square pan, if you’re looking for a fancier presentation an 8 inch fluted flan pan works well.
  • Measure out the dry ingredients into a zip lock bag, when you’re ready to bake sift into a bowl.  Add  egg, sour cream and vanilla, beat until smooth and you’re on your way to a delicious chocolate cake .
  • Only a scoop of homemade Vanilla or Peanut Butter Ice Cream can make eating this cake more pleasurable!
  • The actual title on this recipe read “The World’s Fastest Chocolate Sour Cream Cake.” Thought you’d like to know.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Sour Cream Cake

  1. marianne says:

    I made this cake and it turned out lousy, lol, I checked ingredients then I checked the original worlds fastest sour cream cake and that recipe called for 1 tsp baking soda, did you use that in your cake, my cake came flat, I am going to make it again using soda and see if it turns out better.

    Like

  2. domenicamanafo says:

    Oops, forgot to add the baking soda in the list of ingredients!!
    Sorry Marianne, what can I say. Hope you’ll forgive me.
    Try it again and let me know, it is a really good cake.
    In the meantime I’ve made the correction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

