Roasted Chickpeas

ch yes

Like most I enjoy a sweet treat but if I had to choose it’s a crisp salty snack that would ultimately win out.  I count it a true victory if a walk down the salty snack aisle of my grocery store ends up in no purchase.

However, that doesn’t mean my craving for salt and crunch isn’t alive and well!

Some time ago I came across this recipe and gave it a try, absolutely delicious but  needed more crunch for my liking and haven’t made it since.  Today I feared losing the battle of reaching for that bag of potato chips on the grocery store shelf when a vision of canned chickpeas came to the rescue!

I tried the recipe once again but this time prolonging the oven time which satisfied the desired crunch factor.  Along with the bonus of protein, fiber and iron found in the chickpeas, the minimal amount of olive oil and roasting method make it a much healthier snack alternative.

In the end I may not win the war against purchasing that bag of potato chips but for now I have deliciously won one more battle!

Roasted Chickpeas

2 cans chickpeas
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
coarse salt

  1. Drain and rinse chick peas in a sieve.
  2. Line a rimmed pan with clean dish cloth or paper towels and scatter chickpeas over towel.
  3. Allow towel to absorb moisture for 15 minutes then remove towel, add olive oil and toss until chickpeas are well coated.
  4. Roast in a preheated 400 degree F. oven until golden and crisp stirring occasionally.
  5. Sprinkle with coarse salt.
  6. Store cooled chickpeas in airtight container.

c1 (2)

c2 (2)

c3 (2)

c4 (2)

Notes, Tips and Suggestions

  • I made half the recipe using 1 can of chickpeas and 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil thinking that making the full recipe would yield a little too much. Turns out someone else in the house has taken a liking to these as well so I’m making the other can sooner than I thought.
  • Next time I will add the salt at the same time as the oil.   It most likely will better adhere to the chickpeas.
  • Other seasonings suggested in the original recipe are 1 ½ teaspoons ground coriander, paprika or cinnamon.   I like mine just salty!

For a less crunchy chickpea recipe…

http://someoneinthekitchen.blogspot.ca/2013/06/spicy-chick-pea-salad.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

